Three Kingdoms 三国时代(220-280 C.E.)

The Three Kingdoms and Western Jin – East Asian History

Three Kingdoms: 220–280 CE. It is the period following the end of the Han dynasty when China was divided into three kingdoms: Wei (魏, Wèi), Shu (蜀, Shǔ), and Wu (吳, Wú). China was eventually reunified by Sima Yan, the founder of Jin Dynasty in 280 C.E.

In this post, you will learn about the three kingdoms, the key players in this period, and major battles responsible for the control of Cao Cao in the north and the formation of division of the three kingdoms.

Image result for 曹操 汉献帝 许昌


Guandu Battle (208 C.E.)firmly established Cao Cao’s leading position in the north after defeating his rival, General Yuan Shuai. After the battle, he successfully united the north in China.

Established their Empire:

Wei: 220 C.E. (Cao Pi–Cao Cao’s son–forced Han Xian Di 汉献帝 to abdicate his throne, and usurped Han, and changed the dynasty’s name to Wei 魏。)

Shu: 221 C.E.

Wu: 229 C.E.

Image result for red cliff battle

The battle of Red Cliffs:

Cause: Cao Cao attempted to unify China.

Cao Cao came down with 300,000 soldiers, fighting with the allied force of Liu Bei and Sun Quan (who only had 50,000 soldiers.)

Consequences: After the battle, Cao Cao was defeated and China was divided into three kingdoms.

Chinese Sources: